{Mental Health Awareness Week}

I decided to share this on both blogs. It’s something 1 in 3 of us will deal with throughout our life.

I have personally struggled with depression on and off for a few years. 2012 was the worse year for me. I had my son in January 2012 and I just thought it was post-partum depression but as months passed the feeling didn’t go away. I felt so alone and stuck. Some days I didn’t even want to live. I was such a deep hole of darkness, sadness and pity. I felt so alone and so hopeless. It literally hurt to breathe, I didn’t want to breathe anymore. One day as I sat in the bathroom with a bottle of pills in my sweaty palms I remembered seeing a number to a hotline. I decided to call. That phone call saved my life.

I would go over all the positive things in my life. My son, my family, my friends but nothing matters in those moments of darkness. I would think why am I so sad. I couldn’t control it. I overcame depression with church, therapy, journaling, being more active and surrounding myself with positive people and things. This worked for me but everyone is different. Don’t be afraid to seek help. You are not alone.

I’m so thankful I’m not in that place anymore but the fact that I struggled with depression does NOT make me weak. I am stronger than I’ve ever been. You CAN overcome it.

joy | Quotes

4 thoughts on “{Mental Health Awareness Week}

Leave a Reply

